When the Alabama Accountability Act passed the legislature in 2013, the Senate vote was 22-11 and the House vote was 51-26.  And though that was just five years ago, in the world of politics, it was long ago.  We have now had an election in 2014 and are having another this year.

And the “yea” votes have shrunk noticeably.

Of the 22 in the Senate, a maximum of nine will be in the 2019 legislature.  They are: Arthur Orr of Decatur; Greg Reed of Jasper; Clay Scofield of Guntersville; Del Marsh of Anniston; Jabo Waggoner of Birmingham; Cam Ward of Alabaster; Gerald Allen of Tuscaloosa; Tom Whatley of Auburn and Jimmy Holley of Elba.

Of these, Marsh, Ward, Waggoner, Allen and Whatley have opposition from a Democrat on Nov. 6.  While all the incumbents are favored, their re-election is still to be decided.  Orr, Reed, Scofield and Holley have no general election opposition and will serve in 2019.

Of the 51 House votes, a maximum of 22 will take their seat in the next session.  They are: Lynn Greer, Rogersville; Terri Collins, Decatur; Allen Farley, McCalla; Mike Ball, Huntsville; Howard Sanderford, Huntsville; Mac McCutcheon, Huntsville; Kerry Rich, Guntersville; Becky Nordgren, Gadsden; Randy Wood, Anniston; Bob Fincher, Woodland; K. L. Brown, Jacksonville; Dickie Drake, Leeds; Jim Carns, Birmingham; April Weaver, Alabaster; Jim Hill, Moody; Allen Treadaway, Morris; Bill Poole, Tuscaloosa; Harry Shiver, Stockton; Steve Clouse, Ozark; Joe Faust, Fairhope; Steve McMillan, Bay Minette and Victor Gaston, Mobile.

Of these, Mac McCutcheon, Kerry Rich, April Weaver, Jim Hill, Bill Poole, Steve Clouse, Steve McMillan and Victor Gaston have no opposition in the general election.

The short of it.  Any legislation that may come before the legislature concerning the Alabama Accountability Act will find a much different playing  field than in 2013.