Each year the Council for Leaders in Alabama Schools host a luncheon to recognize 24 schools from around the state that have been chosen as SCHOOLS OF DISTINCTION.

There are eight state school board districts.  Three schools are picked from each district.  And one of these is picked as a BANNER SCHOOL.  I was at this luncheon a few days ago.  As always, I was extremely impressed at what each of these 24 schools are doing.  It is obvious that dedicated principals, teachers and students are going way beyond the call of duty.  There is noting routine about their efforts.

Here are the schools honored.  The school in boldface is the banner school for that district.

District 1

Alma Bryant High School–Mobile County system; Lee Elementary–Satsuma City system;  Tanner Williams Elementary–Mobile County system.

District 2

Beverlye Magnet–Dothan City system; Montana Street Magnet–Dothan City system: Selma Street Elementary–Dothan City system.

District 3

New Beginnings–Hoover City system; B. B. Comer Memorial high–Talladega County system;  Munford Elementary–Talladega County system.

District 4

Central High–Tuscaloosa City system; Hillcrest High–Tuscaloosa County system;  Buhl Elementary–Tuscaloosa County system.

District 5

George Washington Carver Elementary–Macon County system; Satsuma High–Satsuma City system; Westside Elementary–Demopolis City system.

District 6

Pleasant Valley High–Calhoun County system; Weaver Elementary–Calhoun County system; Morgan County School Technology Park–Morgan County system.

District 7

Leeds High–Leeds City system; Florence High–Florence City system; Verner Elementary–Tuscaloosa City system.

District 8

Spark Academy at Cowart Elementary–Athens City system; Bob Jones High–Madison City system; John S. Jones Elementary–Etowah County system.

Congratulations one and all.  You are examples of what is happening across Alabama..