Now that the A-F school report cards are a reality (and tell us absolutely nothing that we did not already know) we need to remember how legislation becomes law.

First you have a bill sponsor and co-sponsors.

A-F was the brainchild of Rep.Terri Collins of Decatur in 2012.  Of the original co-sponsors, here are the ones who still serve: Ed Henry (R); Donnie Chesteen (R); Rod Scott (D); Elaine Beech (D); Phil Williams (R); Mike Ball (R); April Weaver (R); Lynn Greer (R) and Allen Treadaway (R).

Then, of course, the bill must get passed by both the House of Representatives and the Senate.

Here are the representatives who voted to approve it.


Alan Baker, Donnie Chesteen, Joe Faust, Mike Ball, Paul Beckman, Alan Boothe, K. L. Brown, Jim Carns, Steve Clouse,Terri Collins, Randy Davis, Dickey Drake, Allen Farley, Victon Gaston, Lynn Greer, Alan Harper, Ken Johnson, Steve McMillan, Becky Nordgren, Bill Poole, Howard Sanderford, David Sessions, Allen Treadaway, Ed Henry, Steve Hurst, Ron Johnson, Mike Jones, Paul Lee, Mac McCutcheon, Mike Millican, Barry Moore, Kerry Rich, Harry Shiver, Mark Tuggle, April Weaver, Jack Williams and Phil Williams.


Elaine Beech, Chris England, Craig Ford, Juandalynn Givan, Marcel Black, Napolean Bracy, James Buskey, Ralph Howard, Richard Lindsey, Thad McClammy, Mary Moore, Pebblin Warren, Thomas Jackson, John Knight, A. J.  McCampbell, Johnny Mack Morrow, John Rogers and Pat Todd.

Here are the senators.


Gerald Allen, Slade Blackwell, Dick Brewbaker, Paul Bussman, Gerald Dial, Rusty Glover, Jimmy Holley, Bill Holtzclaw, Del Marsh, Arthur Orr, Tripp Pittman, Greg Reed, Clay Scofield,  Paul Sanford, Jabo Waggoner, Phil Williams and Tom Whatley.


Linda Coleman-Madison, Priscilla Dunn, Vivian Figures, Hank Sanders, Billy Beasley, Bobby Singleton and Roger Smitherman


Harri Anne Smith

Now you know the good folks who caused the education community countless hours of meaningless meetings and Lord knows how much money spent needlessly.